best in show

My 5 and 1/2 year-old daughter competed in her first horse show yesterday.  It was all her idea – she said she wanted to be proud of herself.  Who am I to argue?

So I spoke with her trainer (was she ready?), and I got her the gear (we had better be able to amortize this stuff as hand-me-downs…), including a vintage stock pin that made her feel super special.  She looked adorable, and wasn’t the least bit nervous.

She was amazing!  Her confidence boosted.  She had the best time… and got a terrific score to boot!

I suspect this is the first of many.  Be still my beating heart…

This entry was posted in rite of passage and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

