like daugher, like mother

Since it appears Sophie’s horse obsession is having some staying power, I thought I’d sign up the Old Gray Mare (me) for a few lessons, to see what we’re really getting into here.

Not too surprisingly, I loved it.  I sucked at it, but I loved it. Being around an animal that big and beautiful is inspiring.  Being able to communicate with it at all is awesome.

I rode a mare named Casey and she treated me well.  Until the next day.  HOLY CRAP was I sore.  I had my second, and more rigorous, lesson today.  I was sore immediately after the lesson and am terrified what tomorrow holds.  Still, loved it.

How is it that my five-year-old can ride (or even fall off of) a horse without so much as  twinge and I can barely go from sitting to standing without tearing up?

The old gray mare, she ain’t what she used to be…  But at least she’s brave enough to go back for more.

This entry was posted in ouchie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

