18

Today I have been married for 18 years.

Staggering.  Not because it is a long time to be married (arguably it’s not), but because I don’t feel old enough for it to be true, and in some ways it feels like we just met.

I still remember the day I met Scott (a.k.a. Scratch, ScratchyB, Scritchy Scratch – all coined by various nephews and nieces).  It was total recognition.  “Oh, there you are.”  As if we were being reunited.

I could wax poetic about this dear man.  I’d write him a sonnet if I could do it justice, though I think a limerick is more our style, let’s be honest.

He and I share a love of many things, from the ridiculous to the sublime.  Among them:  dive bars, live music, 80’s metal music, rescued animals (more me than him), nerdy technology (more him than me), cracking up with our kids, mountains, hippies, parades, fine dining, McMenamins, nicknaming our pets, a roadtrip with a solid (and at least mildly amusing) playlist, potty humor, and all manner of adventure.  I could go on much, much longer, but will spare you.  You get the picture.

I love this man beyond words.

And we celebrated by going to the beach.  And then coming home to have a “birthday party” for one of Sophie’s dolls.  Complete with cake (from a bakery) and hats (made by yours truly)… and champagne for us.

This entry was posted in celebrate early and often and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 18

  1. ScottD says:

    MMMMWWWAAAHHH! Love you too.

    And happy first birthday, Grace Isabelle Dunlap, the American Girl doll. 😉

    xoxo, SD

  2. sparrowandtide says:

    It seems like just yesterday that Grace was born. Time flies.

  3. Pingback: party girl « Sophie Jane & Quinn

Leave a Reply

