litmus test

Someone told me recently that the last 5 books you read say a lot about you.  I always have 2 or 3 going at a time (what does that say about me?).

Here are my most recent reads:

  • Lift by Kelly Corrigan  (GOOD)
  • Bossypants by Tina Fey (Hilarious.  Buy this book immediately.)
  • I Don’t Know How She Does It by Allison Pearson (Fun)
  • The 90-Minute Baby Sleep Program by Polly Moore (Crucial.  And where the hell was this book when my oldest was a baby???)
  • Stories I Only Tell My Friends by Rob Lowe  (What?  Don’t look at me like that.  It was good.  You know you want to read it, too.)

Next up: Role Models by John Waters (aw yeah, freak flag’s a-flyin’)  and Raising Happiness by Christine Carter (I’m a mom nerd, and it’s funny, surprisingly).

Whatchu got?

This entry was posted in what does this say about me?. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to litmus test

  1. sparrowandtide says:

    Not doing this (publicly), but let’s assume for safety’s sake all of mine are:
    a) purchased from Hudson News in a panic 5 minutes before boarding a flight
    and
    b) are about a kicky, single Londoner (or New Yorker, I guess, for variety) looking for love/ happiness/ skinniness.

    Can I borrow Rob Lowe’s?

  2. Lisa Clark says:

    Hmmmm…let’s see.
    The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks – LOVED IT!!! If textbooks were written like this I might have actually learned something.
    The Name of the Wind – back to my Fantasy roots. Drew me in faster than I thought and now I’m almost done…sigh….
    March – This is the story of Little Women told from the father’s viewpoint. Alas – while the writing style was okay I got soooooooo frustrated with his COMPLETE lack of common sense. I mean, it’s great to have ideals, but if they make you stupid, then what’s the point!?!?!
    Cutting for Stone – again, takes some science and history and turns it into a story. I learned a ton…like what a “fistula” is…look it up…I’m not going to explain it.
    Stormy Weather – Good ol’ Carl Hiassen. I never get enough. Environmentalism and a slew of gaudy, raunchy characters involved in a kooky murder mystery. Really – sometimes you need brain candy and not brain broccoli.

Leave a Reply

