emotional rescue

As much as I love animals, there are a lot of great things in the media that I just can’t look at.  I quite simply become an emotional wreck.

  • March of the Penguins – babies in peril
  • Skinny Bitch – I’m already a vegetarian
  • Temple Grandin – slaughterhouses (This is particularly unfortunate because I’m so interested in Autism.  I’ve been told they don’t show anything graphic with the animals, but my ability to extrapolate is FAR worse.)
  • Water for Elephants – circus
  • Fast Food Nation – animal cruelty, and like I said, I already eat veg
  • Oogy – dog fighting

The list goes on and on.

And the content is so important.  Frequently inspirational.

For years I blamed not being able to watch animal shows on Rocky, as he would bark at the TV any time there was an animal (real or animated).  Now that he’s gone, I still am not able to do it.

The balance is finding enough exposure so I don’t stick my head in the sand.  I know I miss out on a lot of great stuff (movies, books, articles, documentaries…), but I also need to come to my own emotional rescue.

This entry was posted in anxiety inducing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

