all I want for Christmas

My daughter wants a “real” kitten for Christmas.  She has been consistent in this desire for a couple of months now.

What’s hard about this for me is that it is always my general philosophy that our house never has quite enough pet hair in it and thus I’m usually game for furry additions, especially when my sweet, tolerant husband is up for it.

This time is an exception.

For the first time, instead of agreeing to Sophie’s request, or even Scott’s feeling that we’re ready for another dog, I am the one putting on the brakes, stating that our next family addition will be Sophie’s little sister. Period.

Even Martha’s lonely gaze isn’t enough.

Don’t get me wrong, we have a new pet in our near future.  Once I get my sea legs again, I am certain I will be trolling the shelters and rescues looking for our newest furry love.  In the meantime, I guess I’ll just read Lucky Me to Sophie to remind her (and myself) of the big responsibility of having a pet.

But really, who am I kidding?  I think we all know that I will probably cave right after the holidays…

This entry was posted in prepare to eat crow and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to all I want for Christmas

  1. ScottD says:

    Next shelter visit is my guess. 😉

  2. Erica says:

    Must be careful of pregnancy decision-making skills– no perms or pets until postpartum! 😉

  3. Pingback: new kid on the block | Life in the Fur Lane

Leave a Reply

