promises, promises

This year I vowed to do my Christmas shopping early.  Very early.  I made a promise to myself that I would not need to walk into a mall in the month of December.  This was motivated purely by fear.

No one wants to see a pregnant woman crying while waiting in line or getting medieval on the ass of some unwitting sales clerk.  So I finished my shopping early and kept my promise.

Until Saturday.

I also promised Sophie Jane I would take her to see Santa.  Of course, this time of year, Santa resides primarily in shopping malls.

So I sucked it up.  And we got in and out of that mall 98% focused, minimal dilly dallying.

The only crying was a whimper coming from Sophie as I declined her request to visit the toy store conveniently located in close proximity to Santa; whimpering which was minimized by a promise of hot chocolate.  A fair price for a shred of sanity, I say.

 

 

This entry was posted in anxiety inducing, mother-of-the-year nominee. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to promises, promises

  1. Erica says:

    I can’t access the Pajantas link, but it sounds like a good story!

Leave a Reply

