minimal explanation required

I finally picked up the ashes of our dear little departed Gherkin today and had to face explaining to my near-4-year-old what was in the tiny box.

Last month Sophie Jane handled the news of Gherkin’s passing better than I expected (I swear, I don’t give this kid enough credit).  When I asked her about it a couple of days afterward, she leaned forward, touched my arm and, nodding, said, “It’s okay, Mommy… It was her time.”  WHOA.

And so it goes.

So, searching for the “right” words, I explained to her that Gherkin was in the box.  So to speak.  And she looked at me, shook the box and said, “Are Gherkin’s fossils in there?”

And now I am trying to figure out why I was at all worried about how to explain all of this to her…

This entry was posted in achy breaky and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to minimal explanation required

  1. Awww, so cute. There’s a very sweet storybook called Goodbye Mousie about a little backyard pet goodbye and a 4 year-old… a lot of kids love it… Sophie is so cute! As of course, is Gherkin still. That reminds me of another good one for later: The Tenth Good Thing About Barney, about remembering the good times as well as the goodbye….

  2. Bobby says:

    I love this posting. My favorite. Gosh, what an interesting inter-perspective. WHOA!

  3. Yes, it is always awe-inspiring to see demonstrations of the resilience and caring of kids. To me, a little creepy even to see evidence of how carefully they pay attention to whatever they get exposed to… Humans begin as amazing creatures!!!!

  4. stonesparrow says:

    Thank you, Dinosaur Train.

  5. Erica says:

    We always knew she was an old soul. xoxo…

Leave a Reply

